Annex I Countries/Parties

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Countries that committed themselves specifically to the aim of reducing their emissions of greenhouse gases to 1990 levels by the year 2000. The list, which appears in Annex I to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, includes all the countries in the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, plus countries designated as economies in transition. By default other countries were referred to as Non‐Annex I countries. When these countries ratified the Kyoto Protocol they accepted further emission targets for the period 2008–12, and the Annex I list and the Annex B list are almost interchangeable. Strictly speaking, it is the Annex I countries which can invest in Joint Implementation (JI) and Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) projects, as well as host JI projects, and non‐Annex I countries which can host CDM projects.

Subjects: Environmental Science.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.