Related Overviews

Marcus Aurelius (121—180) Roman emperor 161–80

Hadrian (76—138 ad) Roman emperor

Lucius Septimius Severus (146—211) Roman emperor

Nerva (30—98 ad)

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing these subjects:

  • World History
  • Classical Studies


Quick Reference

A Roman imperial dynasty beginning with Titus Aurelius Antoninus (86–161ad). He succeeded Hadrian in 137 and was entitled ‘Pius’ (Latin, ‘the Devout’) by the Roman Senate. His reign was peaceful, by virtue of his respect for the traditional role of the Senate. The remains of a column and temple to his memory still exist in Rome. His nephew and son‐in‐law Marcus Aurelius was named his adopted son and heir. Aurelius' son, Commodus, was technically the last of the dynasty; but Lucius Septimius Severus adopted himself into the line. Severus' son ‘Caracalla’ and great‐nephew Elagabalus continued to use the name and the title ‘Pius’.

Subjects: World History — Classical Studies.

Reference entries