Archbishops' Council

'Archbishops' Council' can also refer to...

Archbishops' Council

Archbishops’ Council

Archbishops' Council

BRITTON, Andrew James Christie (born 1940), Chairman, Finance Committee, Archbishops’ Council, 2007–13

Letter from the Lords of the Council to Archbishop Parker, 9 July 1563

HUBBARD, Julian Richard Hawes (born 1955), Director, Ministry Division, Archbishops’ Council, since 2011

NYE, William James (born 1966), Secretary-General, Archbishop’s Council and General Synod of the Church of England, since 2015

GOUGH, Janet Frances (born 1961), Director, Cathedral and Church Buildings Division, Archbishop’s Council, Church of England, since 2008; fundraiser, moderniser, policy advocate

FITTALL, William Robert (born 1953), Secretary-General, Archbishop’s Council and General Synod of the Church of England, 2002–15

SLOMAN, Anne (born 1944), Chair, Church Buildings Council, 2009–14; Member, Archbishops’ Council, 2003–09

CLARK, John Mullin (born 1946), Director, Mission and Public Affairs, Archbishops’ Council, Church of England, 2002–07

CRUMPLER, Peter George (born 1956), Curate, St Leonard’s Church, Sandridge, since 2013; Director of Communications, Archbishops’ Council of Church of England, 2004–11

AMBO, George Somboba (1925 - 2008), Archbishop of Papua New Guinea, 1983–89; Bishop of Popondota, 1977–89; Chairman, South Pacific Anglican Council, 1986–89

McGREGOR, Alexander Scott (born 1972), Deputy Legal Adviser to the Archbishops’ Council and the General Synod, since 2009; Chancellor, Diocese of Oxford, since 2013

JENKINS, Stephen Lewis (born 1955), public relations consultant, since 2013; Head of Media Relations, Archbishops’ Council of the Church of England, 1999–2013 (Acting Head of Communications, 2002–04; Acting Director of Communications, 2011–12)

SLACK, Stephen (born 1954), Head, Legal Office of the Church of England and Chief Legal Adviser to the Archbishops’ Council, since 2001; Chief Legal Adviser and Registrar, General Synod of the Church of England, since 2001; Joint Registrar of the Provinces of Canterbury and York, since 2001; Official Solicitor to the Church Commissioners, since 2009

HYDE, Henry Edward (1884 - 1941), Home Secretary of the Missionary Council of the Church Assembly since 1930; Canon of St George’s Cathedral, Perth, W Australia, 1930; Commissary for Archbishop of Perth, 1930; for Bishop of Bunbury, 1933; for Bishop of Rockhampton, 1936; for Bishop of Kalgoorlie, 1937

MANN, James Gow (1897 - 1962), Surveyor of the Queen’s Works of Art since 1952 (of King George VI’s Works of Art, 1946–52); Master of the Armouries, The Tower of London, since 1939; Director of the Wallace Collection since 1936; Hon. Vice-President of the Society of Antiquaries (Director 1944–49, President 1949–54); Chairman, National Buildings Record; Member: Advisory Cttee, Royal Mint; Archbishop’s Historic Churches Preservation Trust; Royal Commission on Historical Monuments (England); Historic Buildings Council for England; a Trustee, College of Arms; a Governor of the National Army Museum


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Christianity


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A body set up by the National Institutions Measure 1998 to focus the leadership and co-ordinate the central structures of the C of E. It brings together a number of functions previously performed by various committees of the Church Commissioners and the General Synod. It reports annually to the General Synod, and it may introduce legislation into the synodical process. Its membership comprises the Abps. of Canterbury and York; a number of elected officers and members of the General Synod representing each of its Houses, including the Proluctors of the Convocations; one Church Estates Commissioner; and up to six further members appointed by the Archbishops in consultation with the General Synod.

Subjects: Christianity.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.