Arden edition

Related Overviews

Kenneth Muir (1907—1996)


'Arden edition' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Shakespeare Studies and Criticism


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A multi-volume edition of Shakespeare which first appeared under the General Editorship of W. J. Craig, from 1891 to 1906, then of R. H. Case, from 1906 to 1924. A plan to revise the original volumes was soon scrapped in favour of entirely new editions which began to appear in 1951 under the General Editorship of Una Ellis-Fermor, succeeded in 1958 by Harold F. Brooks and Harold Jenkins, later joined by Brian Morris and Richard Proudfoot. This series, unofficially known as the New Arden, included some distinguished and highly influential volumes such as Macbeth and King Lear edited by Kenneth Muir, Hamlet edited by Jenkins, and Coriolanus edited by Philip Brockbank. A new series, known as Arden 3, began to appear in 1995 under the General Editorship of Proudfoot. Ann Thompson, and David Scott Kastan. Each volume of all the series has full scholarly apparatus, including an extended introduction, collations, detailed annotations, and reprints of source material.

Subjects: Shakespeare Studies and Criticism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.