Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Was the smallest of the six countries of Northern Ireland. The chief town is Armagh which has been an archbishopric since the 12th cent.: there is also a Roman catholic archbishopric. The catholic population is strong in the south and in 1921 Armagh council protested against the creation of Northern Ireland and was dissolved.

Subjects: Religion — European History.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.