Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Skt., noble path; Pāli, ariya-magga).

Particularly in early Buddhism.the fourfold supermundane (lokottara) level of training leading to nirvāṇa. Each path has its own fruit (phala), namely the four attainments of the stream-winner (śrotāpanna), the once-returner (sakṛdāgāmin), the non-returner (anāgāmin), and the Arhat. Those who have not attained any of these paths are known as ‘ordinary folk’ (pṛthagjana). In Mahāyāna Buddhism, a scheme of five paths is more common. See mārga.

Subjects: Buddhism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.