Quick Reference

Sculpturally portrayed in the appropriate position in Hindu temples, the eight guardians of the cardinal directions, namely: Indra (E), Agni (SE), Yama (S), Nirṛti (SW), Varuṇa (W), Vāyu (NW), Kubera (N), and Ῑśāna (NE), or variations on these. The guardians each have their own bull-elephant (also called dik- or loka-pāla), on which they are frequently shown mounted.

Subjects: Hinduism.

Reference entries