'Asteraceae' can also refer to...




Microsatellite loci are not conserved across the Asteraceae.

Self-incompatibility in Senecio squalidus L. (Asteraceae)

High Outcrossing in the Annual Colonizing Species Ambrosia artemisiifolia (Asteraceae)

The Genetic Basis of Floral Variation in Senecio jacobaea (Asteraceae)

Differential competitive ability between sexes in the dioecious Antennaria dioica (Asteraceae)

Floral development and evolution of capitulum structure in Anacyclus (Anthemideae, Asteraceae)

Phytophagous Insects Associated with Hieracium pilosella (Asteraceae) in Hungary, Central Europe

Qualitative Evaluation of Damage by Epiblema strenuana (Lepidoptera: Tortricidae) to the Weed Parthenium hysterophorus (Asteraceae)

Bridging global and microregional scales: ploidy distribution in Pilosella echioides (Asteraceae) in central Europe

Function and evolution of sterile sex organs in cryptically dioecious Petasites tricholobus (Asteraceae)

Artificial asymmetric warming reduces nectar yield in a Tibetan alpine species of Asteraceae

Origins and Widespread Distribution of Co-existing Polyploids in Arnica cordifolia (Asteraceae)

An extinct Eocene taxon of the daisy family (Asteraceae): evolutionary, ecological and biogeographical implications

An extinct Eocene taxon of the daisy family (Asteraceae): evolutionary, ecological and biogeographical implications

Genome size in Hieracium subgenus Hieracium (Asteraceae) is strongly correlated with major phylogenetic groups

Phylogeography and disjunct distribution in Lychnophora ericoides (Asteraceae), an endangered cerrado shrub species


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Plant Sciences and Forestry


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The largest family of flowering plants, formerly known as Compositae, and represented in every part of the world except for Antarctica. The flowers are individually small, but are clustered into a head (capitulum) resembling a single flower, with florets seated on receptacles of varied form, and the head surrounded by an involucre, or bracts resembling a calyx. Florets often have no calyx, but sometimes a hairy or scaly pappus develops in the fruit. The corolla is tubular or strap-like and 5-lobed. The 5 stamens are joined into a tube. The ovary is inferior and one-celled, forming an achene. Some have all the florets similar, either all tubular or all strap-shaped; in some (e.g. Bellis, daisy) the outer florets are strap-like and female or neuter, while the inner florets are tubular and usually hermaphrodite. The Asteraceae is closely related to the Dipsacaceae (which, however, has long, usually free stamens, conspicuous calyx teeth, a cup-like epicalyx to each flower, and the ovule pendulous in the ovary, rather than basal). The Asteraceae includes the largest angiosperm genus, Senecio (ragworts and groundsels) with more than 2000 species; and many valuable cultivated plants, e.g. Lactuca sativa (lettuce), Chrysanthemum, Dahlia, and Helianthus annuus (sunflower), as well as many common wild plants. The family comprises 1314 genera with about 21 000 species.

Subjects: Plant Sciences and Forestry.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.