Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy

Quick Reference

A consortium of US universities founded in 1957 to provide observing facilities for astronomers. AURA operates the National Optical Astronomy Observatory, the National Solar Observatory, the Space Telescope Science Institute, and the Gemini Observatory. Its headquarters are in Washington, DC. It has 37 US member institutions plus international affiliates in Australia, Canada, the Canary Islands, Chile, Germany, and Japan.

http://www.aura-astronomy.org/ Official website.

Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics.

Reference entries