Gertrude Atherton


Related Overviews

Mary E. Wilkins Freeman (1852—1930)

Edith Wharton (1862—1937) American novelist and short-story writer

Ellen Glasgow (1874—1945)

Willa Cather (1873—1947) American novelist and short-story writer


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Quick Reference


California author, whose many novels include a series depicting life in her native state from Spanish times to the present, in such volumes as Before the Gringo Came (1894), revised as The Splendid Idle Forties (1902), romantic short stories; The Californians (1898, revised 1935); Rezánov (1906); The Sisters-in-Law (1921); and The Horn of Life (1942). She also wrote a fictional biography of Alexander Hamilton, The Conqueror (1902), and several society novels which include Julia France and Her Times (1912) and the sensational Black Oxen (1923), about an aging woman's rejuvenation by a glandular operation. Other works are essays, short stories, and a history of California, Golden Gate Country (1945), in the American Folkways series, and several novels on classical themes. Adventures of a Novelist (1932) is her autobiography.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by Gertrude Atherton