Austrian State Treaty

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(15 May 1955)

The treaty, signed by the Soviet Union, the USA, Britain, and France, formally recognized the second Austrian Republic and agreed that occupation forces would withdraw within five months. Unlike in Germany, whose eastern half the Soviet Union had integrated into its Communist sphere of influence, the USSR agreed to vacate its Austrian zone of occupation, in return for reparation payments, and Austrian adherence to a strict policy of neutrality.

Subjects: Contemporary History (Post 1945).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.