autonomous republic

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Soviet federalism designated a hierarchy of subunits from the centre: republics, given the ethnic name of the titular majority and with the official right to secede; autonomous republics, mainly in the Russian Federation, with an ethnic identity but without the right to secede; and autonomous regions, with some geographical or historical identity but without an ethnic basis. The independence movement in the Chechen Republic challenged Russian federal control, leading to violent military conflict between 1994 and 2000.

Subjects: Politics.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.