Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A dynasty of sultans who controlled the Deccan plateau in central India from 1347 to 1518. The dynasty was founded by Ala‐ud‐din Bahman Shah, who in 1347 rebelled against his Delhi suzerain. His successors expanded over the west-central Deccan, reaching a peak in the late 15th century under Mahmud Gawan, who successfully held encroaching Hindu and Muslim powers at bay. During the early 16th century the Hindu empire of Vijayanagar to the south expanded at the Bahmanis' expense, and between 1490 and 1518 the sultanate gradually dissolved into five successor Muslim states, Bijapur, Ahmadnagar, Golconda, Berar, and Bidar.

Subjects: World History — Art.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.