Mark Baldwin

(b. 1954)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b Fiji, 16 Jan. 1954)

British-based dancer, choreographer and director. Born in Fiji, he was raised in New Zealand where he graduated with a Fine Arts degree from the Elam School of Fine Arts, University of Auckland. He was a founding member of Limbs Dance Company and danced with New Zealand Ballet and Australian Dance Theatre before moving to Britain where he joined Rambert Dance Company (1983–92). One of that company's key dancers for a decade, he also made his first important choreography there in 1991 (Island to Island). In 1992 he left Rambert and the following year started the Mark Baldwin Dance Company, which ran until 2001. During this time he additionally choreographed for Rambert, Modern Ballet of Argentina, Phoenix Dance Company, Cisne Negro, and the Turkish State Opera House. In 1996 he was also resident choreographer of Scottish Ballet, where he created Haydn Pieces and Ae Fond Kiss. In 1997 he created Labyrinth for the Berlin Staatsoper, in collaboration with the composer Hans Werner Henze and the sculptor Anish Kapoor. In 1998 he returned to Berlin to choreograph a full evening of works, including Der Dämon (mus. Hindemith) and Die Josephslegende (mus. R. Strauss). In 1999 he made his choreographic debut at the Royal Ballet with Towards Poetry (mus. Julian Anderson). In 2002 he was appointed artistic director of Rambert Dance Company where he encouraged the development of younger choreographers such as Rafael Bonachela as well as reviving past works, including a version of Lady into Fox (A. Howard with additional choreography by Baldwin, mus. Benjamin Pope, 2006). His own choreography has tended to avoid narrative but his works are expressive and often slyly humorous. In 1996 he put his work Mirrors onto the internet, inviting choreographic contributions from the public. Works created for his own company included Dances from Cyberspace (mus. Handel, 1995), Concerto Grosso (mus. Handel, 1995), Vespri (mus. Monteverdi, 1995), Mirrors (mus. Ravel, 1996), Confessions (mus. MacMillan, 1996), A Collection of Moving Parts (mus. Chopin, 1996). His recent works for Rambert have included Constant Speed (mus. Lehár, 2005), Eternal Light (mus. Howard Goodall, 2008), and Comedy of Change (mus. Julian Anderson, 2009). In 2006 he created The Wedding for Royal New Zealand Ballet.

http://www.rambert.org Website for Rambert with information on Baldwin

Subjects: Dance.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.