Alhaji Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa

(1912—1966) prime minister of Nigeria

Related Overviews

Alhaji Sir Ahmadu Bello (1910—1966) premier of Northern Nigeria


Nnamdi Azikiwe (1904—1996) journalist and president of Nigeria



More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Contemporary History (Post 1945)


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Nigerian statesman. He entered politics in 1946, and became a member of the Central Legislative Council in 1947. The first Prime Minister of the Federation of Nigeria, he retained his office when the country became independent (1960) until he was killed in an army coup.

Subjects: Contemporary History (Post 1945).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.