Stan Barstow

(b. 1928)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1928– ),

novelist. His first novel, A Kind of Loving (1960), is the present‐tense narration of office‐worker Vic Brown, trapped into marriage by his infatuation for small‐minded Ingrid and harassed by his mother‐in‐law; it was followed by other vivid portrayals of Yorkshire life, which contributed to the development of the regional novel associated with Sillitoe, Waterhouse, Braine, and others. Later works include a trilogy, Just You Wait and See (1986), Give Us This Day (1989), and Next of Kin (1991); and an autobiography, In My Own Good Time (2001).

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards).

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by Stan Barstow

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.