H. E. Bates

(1905—1974) writer

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


novelist and short story writer. His works include volumes of stories, The Woman Who Had Imagination (1934), The Flying Goat (1939), and The Beauty of the Dead (1940); and novels, The Two Sisters (1926), The Fallow Land (1932), Love for Lydia (1952), and The Darling Buds of May (1958). He also published three volumes of autobiography.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.