Nina Bawden

(b. 1925)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Mabey) (1925– ),

novelist and children's writer, born in London, educated at Somerville College, Oxford. Her many well‐crafted and closely observed novels of middle‐class life, where turmoil beneath the surface of outwardly ordered lives is deftly uncovered, include Who Calls the Tune (1953), Change Here for Babylon (1955), Just Like a Lady (1960), A Woman of My Age (1967), The Birds on the Trees (1970), Anna Apparent (1972), Afternoon of a Good Woman (1976), Walking Naked (1981), The Ice House (1983), Circles of Deceit (1987, adapted for television), Family Money (1991, also adapted for television), A Nice Change (1997), and Ruffian on the Stair (2002). A memoir, In My Own Time (1994), was followed by Dear Austen (2005), addressed to her husband Austen Kark who died in the Potters Bar rail crash in 2002.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.