Bayley Scales of Infant Development

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A popular instrument for measuring infant development, comprising three subscales: a mental scale, measuring memory, perception, and other cognitive functions; a motor scale, measuring the quality of motor performance; and an infant behaviour scale, measuring social behaviour, persistence, and other general factors. [Named after the US psychologist Nancy Bayley (1899–1995) who introduced an early version of the scales in 1924 and a revised version in 1965]

Subjects: Psychology.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.