BBC Symphony Orchestra

Related Overviews

Arturo Toscanini (1867—1957) Italian conductor

Sir Adrian Cedric Boult (1889—1983) conductor

Malcolm Sargent (1895—1967) conductor

Rudolf Schwarz (1905—1994)

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


'BBC Symphony Orchestra' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Music


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Chief orch. of the BBC, formed 1930 with 114 (later 119) players on permanent contract. Has given f.ps. of many works by Brit. composers. Guest conds. have incl. the world's leading exponents, notably Toscanini. Chief conds. since inception: Adrian Boult 1931–50; Malcolm Sargent 1950–7; Rudolf Schwarz 1957–62; Antal Dorati 1962–6; Colin Davis 1967–71; Pierre Boulez 1971–5; Rudolf Kempe 1975–6; Gennady Rozhdestvensky 1978–81; John Pritchard 1981–9; Andrew Davis 1989–2000; Leonard Slatkin 2000–5; Jiří Bělohlávek from 2006. Other BBC sym. orchs. are the Philharmonic (based in Manchester), Scottish (based in Glasgow), and Welsh (based in Cardiff and known from 1993 as BBC National Orchestra of Wales). The BBC Symphony Chorus was formed 1928 as National Chorus (at its 1st concert, 23 Nov. 1928, Bantock cond. f.p. of his Pilgrim's Progress). Name changed to BBC Chorus 1932, to BBC Choral Society 1935, to present title 1977. Up to 1976, ch. master was dir. of BBC Singers, but in that year separate appointment (Brian Wright) was made.

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.