Wendell Berry

(b. 1934)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Kentuckyborn author and professor at his alma mater, the state university. His poems, redolent of the region and its people, are collected in The Broken Ground (1964), Openings (1968), Findings (1969), Farming: A Handbook (1970), The Country of Marriage (1973), Clearing (1977), and The Wheel (1983). His novels, also set in his native state, are Nathan Coulter (1960), about a boy growing up in the tobacco-farming land; A Place on Earth (1967; revised, 1983), about a Kentuckian at home whose only son is missing in action during World War II but who returns home; The Memory of Old Jack (1974), in which a 92-year-old farmer recalls the ways of life of his earlier days. He has also written essays collected in The Long-Legged House (1969), The Unforeseen Wilderness (1971), A Continuous Harmony (1972), The Unsettling of America: Culture and Agriculture (1977), and Standing by Words (1983). The Hidden Wound (1970) contains recollections of childhood and the effect of racism on him. A Part (1980) contains translations and poems.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.