R. D. Blackmore

(1825—1900) novelist and fruit farmer

Related Overviews

Theocritus (c. 310—250 bc)

Virgil (70—19 bc) Roman poet




More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Quick Reference


published several volumes of poems and translations from Theocritus and Virgil, but his fame rests almost entirely on one of his novels, Lorna Doone (1869). He wrote 13 other novels, including Cradock Nowell (1866), The Maid of Sker (1872), Alice Lorraine (1875), and Springhaven (1887). The great excellence of these pastoral tales is the intricacy of their descriptions of lovingly‐observed climate, wildlife, and vegetation.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by R. D. Blackmore