Black Yajur Veda

Related Overviews


'Black Yajur Veda' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Hinduism


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

One of the two major recensions of the Yajur Veda. The adjective ‘Black’ distinguishes it from the other recension, the White or Pure Yajur Veda (Śukla Yajur Veda), as does its mixing of mantras or yajus with explanatory prose formulae (brāhmaṇas). The Black Yajur Veda is divided between four collections (Saṃhitā), each preserved by its own school (śākhā): the Taittirīya-Saṃhitā, Maitrāyaṇī-Saṃhitā, Kapiṣṭhala-(Kaṭha)-Saṃhitā, and Kāṭhaka-Saṃhitā.

Subjects: Hinduism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.