Louise Bogan


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Maine-born poet who lived in New York, whose books include Body of This Death (1923); Dark Summer (1929); The Sleeping Fury (1937); Poems and New Poems (1941); Collected Poems (1954); and The Blue Estuaries (1968). Her volume of Selected Criticism (1955) was extended in A Poet's Alphabet (1970), a posthumous collection. What the Woman Lived (1973) prints her letters. Her spare, sensitive poetry, mostly in traditional forms, is marked by intensity of personal expression and incisive imagery.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.