Robert Bolt

(1924—1995) scriptwriter and playwright

Related Overviews

Ralph Richardson (1902—1983) actor

Paul Scofield (1922—2008)

W. Somerset Maugham (1874—1965) writer and playwright

Michael Redgrave (1908—1985) actor

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing these subjects:

  • Literature
  • Theatre


Quick Reference


playwright, achieved his first West End success in 1957 with Flowering Cherry (pub. 1958). This was followed by The Tiger and the Horse (1960, pub. 1961) and A Man for All Seasons (1960, pub. 1960), his best‐known work, based on the life of Sir T. More. Other works include the screenplay of Lawrence of Arabia (1962), based on the exploits of T. E. Lawrence, Ryan's Daughter (1970), Vivat, Vivat Regina (1970), and The Mission (1986).

Subjects: Literature — Theatre.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by Robert Bolt