Jane Bowles


Related Overviews

Paul Bowles (1910—1999) American writer and composer

e. e. Cummings (1894—1962)

Allen Ginsberg (1926—1997) American poet

Tennessee Williams (1911—1983) American dramatist

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literary Studies (20th Century onwards)


Quick Reference

(née Auer) (1917–73),

wife of P. Bowles, is chiefly remembered for her short novel, Two Serious Ladies (1943), an exotic, disjointed work about two contrasted lives. Her play, In the Summer House (perf. 1953) was praised by T. Williams as ‘elusive and gripping’. Her Collected Works were published in 1984: Everything is Nice (1989) adds some previously uncollected short fiction. The story of her obsessional and self‐destructive life is told in A Little Original Sin (1981) by Millicent Dillon.

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards).

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by Jane Bowles