Anne Boyd

(b. 1946)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b Sydney, NSW, 1946).

Australian composer. Lect. in mus. Sussex Univ. 1975–7. Head of Mus. Dept., Hong Kong Univ. 1980–8, Prof. of mus., Univ. of Sydney from 1990. Works incl.: The Voice of the Phoenix (1971) (orch., incl. amplified instr. and optional synthesizer); As Far As Crawls the Toad (1970, rev. 1972), th. piece for 5 young percussionists; 2 str. qts. (1968, rev. 1971, and 1973); The Rose Garden (1971), th. piece for singing actress, ch., chamber ens.; The Metamorphoses of the Solitary Female Phoenix (1971), wind quintet, pf., perc.; As it leaves the Bell (1973), pf., hp., perc.; Summer Nights (1976), alto, str., perc., hp.; As All Waters Flow (1976), 5 female vv., chamber ens.; As I Crossed a Bridge of Dreams (1975), 12 unacc. vv.; Anklung (1974), pf.; Bencharong (1976), str.; The Death of Captain Cook, oratorio, sop., ten., bar., ch., orch. (1978); The Little Mermaid, children's opera (1978); The Beginning of the Day, children's opera (1980); Anklung 2, vn. (1980); Grathawai, orch. (1993); Meditations on a Chinese Character, v., chamber ens. (1996).

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.