Kay Boyle


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


born in Minnesota, was long an expatriate in France, returning to the U.S. in 1941. Her impressionistic stories have appeared in Wedding Day (1930), First Lover (1933), The White Horses of Vienna (1936), The Crazy Hunter (1940), Thirty Stories (1946), The Smoking Mountain (1951), Nothing Ever Breaks Except the Heart (1966), and Fifty Stories (1980). Her novels include Plagued by the Nightingale (1931), dealing with an American girl and her French husband, torn between the need to have a child so as to receive his legacy and the desire to avoid transmitting his hereditary disease; Year Before Last (1932), Gentlemen, I Address You Privately (1933); My Next Bride (1934); Death of a Man (1936); Monday Night (1938); and The Youngest Camel (1939). Primer for Combat (1942), Avalanche (1943), a tale of espionage; A Frenchman Must Die (1946); and His Human Majesty (1949) are set in France during World War II. Generation Without Farewell (1959) depicts Germans and Americans just after World War II; and The Underground Woman (1975) is about a woman jailed for anti-Vietnam War protest and her concern for her daughter involved in a cult. Poems are published in A Glad Day (1938); American Citizen (1944), about her Austrian refugee husband who became a U.S. soldier; Testament for My Students (1970), works written in the 1920s and '30s; and the selections mistitled Collected Poems (1962). The Long Walk at San Francisco State (1970) prints essays on social and political issues. She expanded the autobiography of Robert McAlmon as Being Geniuses Together (1968) by interspersing her own memoirs with his.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.