Gerald Warner Brace


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


received his A.B. from Amherst and graduate degrees from Harvard, and has taught at various New England colleges, chiefly Boston University (1939–68). His novels, all dealing with New England people and scenes, include The Islands (1936), set in Maine; The Wayward Pilgrims (1938), about a chance meeting in a Vermont depot; Light on a Mountain (1941); The Garretson Chronicle (1947), depicting changing ways in three generations of a Massachusetts family; A Summer's Tale (1949); The Spire (1952); The World of Carrick's Cove (1957); Winter Solstice (1960); The Wind's Will (1964); and Between Wind and Water (1966). The Department (1968) is a novel about a professor recalling 40 years in an English department. The Age of the Novel (1957) and The Stuff of Fiction (1969) are critical works. Days That Were (1976) presents memories of his youth.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.