Brazzaville Bloc

Quick Reference

One of the first post‐colonial associations to encourage economic and political cooperation. It emerged in 1960 from a conference in the Congolese capital of Brazzaville, and consisted of the newly independent countries of former French Equatorial Africa and French West Africa (except Guinea and Mali). The Bloc was short‐lived, being superseded in 1961 by the Organization of Cooperation of the African and Malagasy States, which eventually led to the foundation of the OAU (African Union) in 1963.

Subjects: Contemporary History (Post 1945).

Reference entries