Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Border county of south Wales taking its name from the Welsh kingdom of Brycheiniog. Its Norman successor was the lordship of Brecon. At the Act of Union with England in 1536 the lordships of Brecon and of Builth to the north were merged to form the county. In 1974 it became a district of the new county of Powys and remained part of that county after the revision of 1996.

Breconshire is dominated by hills, including the Brecon Beacons (Pen‐y‐Fan 2,906 feet), one of the country's national parks, the Black Mountains, and Fforest Fawr. Only some 6 per cent of the county is below 500 feet, the lower land being formed by the valleys of the rivers Wye and Usk.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.