British Central Africa

Related Overviews

Western Desert campaigns

Burma campaigns

Jan Christiaan Smuts (1870—1950) prime minister of South Africa, army officer, and writer on evolution

Italian Campaign


'British Central Africa' can also refer to...

British Central Africa

British Central Africa

British Central Africa

Parcel Post Arrangement between the British Central Africa Protectorate (Great Britain) and Zanzibar, signed at Zanzibar/Zomba, 29 April/4 June 1904

Treaty between Great Britain and Kanga, Chief of the Mitshesi Pass, North M'Lanje (Africa), signed at Fort Lister, North M'Lanje, British Central Africa, 12 July 1893

John Stuart. British Missionaries and the End of Empire: East, Central, and Southern Africa, 1939–64.

Treaty between Great Britain and the Sovereign of the Kingdorn of Bornoo (Central Africa), signed 3 September 1852

Treaty between Great Britain and the Sultan of Sokoto (Central Africa), signed at Wurno, 2 May 1853

Convention between France and Great Britain respecting Newfoundland and West and Central Africa, signed at London, 8 April 1904

‘An intricate and distasteful subject’: British Planning for the Use of Force Against the European Settlers of Central Africa, 1952–65

Kingsley, Mary Henrietta 1862–1900 British explorer of West and Central Africa who was the first European to visit parts of Gabon.

Treaty between Great Britain and Kaduya, M'Kanda, and M'Kamula, Chiefs of the Matshemba country, signed at Fort Lister, North M'Lanje, British Central Africa, 12 July 1893

Universal Postal Convention between the Argentine Republic, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Greater Republic of Central America, Chile, Colombia, Congo Free State, Corea, Costa Rica, Denmark and Colonies, Ecuador, Egypt, France and Colonies, Germany and Protectorates, Great Britain and Colonies and India, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Italy, Japan, Liberia, Luxemburg, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands and Colonies, Norway, Paraguay, Persia, Peru, Portugal and Colonies, Roumania, Russia, Servia, Siam, South African Republic, Spain and Colonies, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunis, Turkey, United States, Uruguay and Venezuela, signed at Washington, 15 June 1897


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Second World War


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Comprised the colonies of Northern Rhodesia (1.5 million blacks, 14,300 whites) and Southern Rhodesia (1.4 million blacks, 65,000 whites), and the Protectorate of Nyasaland (1.8 million blacks, 1,800 whites). About ...

Subjects: Second World War.

Reference entries