British Indian Ocean Territory

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

British colony in the Indian Ocean comprising the islands of the Chagos Archipelago, 1900km (1200mi) ne of Mauritius. In 1814 France ceded the territory to Britain, and it was administered ...

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.