Louis Bromfield


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


born in Ohio, served in World War I, became a New York journalist and foreign correspondent, and long made his home in France. His first novel, The Green Bay Tree (1924), opens a tetralogy, Escape, including Possession (1925), Early Autumn (1926, Pulitzer Prize), and A Good Woman (1927), about efforts of individuals to escape the domination of family and tradition in different eras of American life. His twelve other novels include The Farm (1933), about a century in the life of an Ohio family. Story collections include Awake and Rehearse (1929), and plays include The House of Women (1927), dramatizing The Green Bay Tree. Bromfield's conservative social views are set forth in A Few Brass Tacks (1946). From My Experience (1955) treats the pleasures and miseries of his farming in Ohio and Brazil.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by Louis Bromfield

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.