Rhoda Broughton

(1840—1920) novelist

Related Overviews

Émile Zola (1840—1902) French novelist and critic


Henry James (1843—1916) writer

Charlotte Mary Yonge (1823—1901) novelist

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Quick Reference


author of many light, witty novels of country‐house and town life, with lively and articulate heroines, which gained her a reputation for audacity. She began her career with the three‐ and two‐decker novels that were still popular (Not Wisely, but too Well, 1867; Cometh up as a Flower, 1867; Nancy, 1873), but was possibly more at home with the form of her later short, sharp, observant one‐volume novels, which include Mrs Bligh (1892), Dear Faustina (1897), Lavinia (1902, which boldly presents an anti‐Boer War hero, fond of old lace), and A Waif's Progress (1905).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by Rhoda Broughton