Vincent Brown

(d. 1933)

'Vincent Brown' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Quick Reference

(d. 1933) published thirty-one volumes of fiction between 1898 and 1933. His Edwardian fiction consists mostly of arch accounts of clerical, sexual, and clerico-sexual scandal. In The Sacred Cup (1905), the normally tolerant and sympathetic vicar of Lamberfield refuses the Lord's Supper to an unrepentant sinner. The Irresistible Husband (1911) has to do with entanglements at a Scottish ‘hydro’. In The Clergy House: A Story for a Quiet Hour (1914), a curate absconds with the wife of a scoundrel, who promptly reforms himself.

From The Oxford Companion to Edwardian Fiction in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries