Alan Brownjohn

(b. 1931)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1931– ),

poet, born in London and educated at Merton College, Oxford. His volumes of poems include The Railings (1961); Collected Poems 1952–83 (1983), reissued in 1988 to include most of the poems in The Old Flea‐Pit (1987); The Observation Car (1990); and The Cat Without E‐mail (2001). Brownjohn's poetry is, characteristically, good‐humoured, ironic, and urbane, and, in P. Porter's phrase, it unites ‘wit and civic responsibility’ in its survey of contemporary social, domestic, and literary life. He has also written for children, edited several anthologies, and written a critical study of Larkin (1975). His novels include The Way You Tell Them (1990) and A Funny Old Year (2001).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.