Burmese wars

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The British in India fought three wars against the Alaungpaya dynasty (1752–1885), kings of Burma. The first, between 1824 and 1826, was a reaction to Burmese expansion which was considered to threaten Calcutta. Following a victory notable for its heavy casualties, the East India Company annexed Assam, Arakan, and Tenasserim and established a resident at the royal court. The second war in 1852 was provoked by a revolt against interference in Burmese affairs by the resident and led to the annexation of Pegu. The third war, in 1885–6, was a response to the throne's attempts to promote anti‐British sentiments. In its wake, the dynasty was displaced, upper Burma annexed, and the whole of the country ruled directly as a province of British India.

Subjects: British History — Military History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.