John Burnside

(b. 1955)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1955– ),

poet, born in Fife. Early collections, The Hoop (1988), Common Knowledge (1991), and Feast Days (1992), show a fusion of autobiographical fragments with spiritual and natural landscapes, and a recurrence of imagery from Celtic mythology and a Catholic upbringing. His preoccupation with aspects of identity, memory, and the supernatural, inform The Myth of the Twin (1994), in which the ‘other’ or ‘anima’ is represented as inhabiting a parallel dimension to the self. Later volumes include Swimming in the Flood (1995), The Asylum Dance (2000), The Good Neighbour (2005), and Selected Poems (2006). His novels include The Dumb House (1997), The Mercy Boys (1999), The Locust Room (2001), set in 1975 at the time of the Cambridge rapist, and Living Nowhere (2003). His memoir, A Lie About My Father, was published in 2006.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.