James Branch Cabell


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Virginia novelist and a man of letters best known for his series of urbane, highly mannered, pseudo-erudite romances of Dom Manuel, set in the mythical medieval country of Poictesme. Beyond Life (1919) and Straws and Prayer-Books (1924), critical works, are prologue and epilogue to the Poictesme series, composed of novels, stories, and poems, whose sequence of action, as distinct from sequence of publication, is: Figures of Earth (1921), The Silver Stallion (1926), Domnei (1920), The Music from Behind the Moon (1926), Chivalry (1909), Jurgen (1919), The Line of Love (1905), The High Place (1923), Gallantry (1907), Something About Eve (1927), The Certain Hour (1916), The Cords of Vanity (1909), From the Hidden Way (1916), The Jewel Merchants (1921), The Rivet in Grandfather's Neck (1915), The Eagle's Shadow (1904), and The Cream of the Jest (1917).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by James Branch Cabell

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.