James M. Cain


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


novelist and journalist, known for his novels of racketeers and others on the criminal fringe. His books include The Postman Always Rings Twice (1934; dramatized, 1936; made into a film, 1946, 1981; adapted as an opera, 1982), a tough story, written in a popularization of Hemingway's style, about the plotting of a voluptuous girl and her lover, a young drifter, to murder her husband; Double Indemnity (1936); Serenade (1937); Mildred Pierce (1941); Love's Lovely Counterfeit (1942); Past All Dishonor (1946), set in Nevada during the Civil War; The Butterfly (1947); The Moth (1948); Galatea (1953); Mignon (1962), set in New Orleans just after the Civil War; Rainbow's End (1975); and The Institute (1976). The Baby in the Icebox (1981) collects stories.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by James M. Cain

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.