Cape of Good Hope

Related Overviews


More Like This

Show all results sharing these subjects:

  • World History
  • British History


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Cape Town was captured by the British from the Dutch in 1795 and formally ceded in 1814. Strained relations between British immigrants and the Dutch settlers (Boers) over slavery and religion led to the Boers' Great Trek in 1835 to re‐establish their own territories. The Cape became a crown colony in 1853. In 1910 the Cape became a province of the Union of South Africa along with the Boer republics of Natal, Transvaal, and the Orange Free State.

Subjects: World History — British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.