archiepiscopal diocese of Cashel

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The Irish archbishopric of Cashel was established by the Council of Raithbressail (1111), with oversight of the twelve dioceses of Leth Moga (southern half of Ireland). The Council of Kells‐Mellifont (1152) further restructured Ireland into four provinces, reducing Cashel's authority to the south‐west by the creation of the Dublin province. Cashel is still a catholic archiepiscopal see, but in 1838 the Anglican see was united with Dublin.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.