R. V. Cassill


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


born in Iowa, educated at the University of Iowa, where he has taught creative writing. His novels include Eagle on the Coin (1950), treating personal and political involvements in a black's campaign for a small-town school board; Clem Anderson (1961), about the degradation and death of a promising young author; The President (1964), about a psychotic, power-seeking college president; La Vie Passionée of Rodney Buckthorne (1968), a comic work about academia and Greenwich Village culture; Dr. Cobb's Game (1970), a lively tale drawing on Britain's Profumo case of 1963 to treat sexual and social motivations; The Goss Women (1974), another story of sex and society; Hoyt's Child (1976); and Labors of Love (1980), presenting a failing author who overcomes his writer's block and begins to analyze women when deserted by his wife and his mistress. The Father (1965) collects stories. He has also issued popular paperback novels under his own name and that of Owen Aherne.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.