category 1 territories

Related Overviews


'category 1 territories' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Law


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Those territories designated by Order of the Secretary of State for the purposes of pt 1 of the Extradition Act 2003 (see extradition). A territory may not be designated as a category 1 territory if a person found guilty in the territory of a criminal offence may be sentenced to death for the offence under the general criminal law of the territory. As at 1 September 2006 the following territories had been so designated (by the Extradition Act 2003 (Designation of Part 1 Territories) Order 2003 (SI 2003/3333); the Extradition Act 2003 (Amendment to Designations) Orders 2004 (SI 2004/1898), 2005 (SI 2005/365), and (No 2) 2005 (SI 2005/2036) ): Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden.

Subjects: Law.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.