Catholic University of Ireland

Related Overviews

John Henry Newman (1801—1890) theologian and cardinal

Paul Cullen (1803—1878) Roman Catholic archbishop of Dublin

Trinity College, Dublin

Eugene O'Curry (1794—1862) Irish scholar

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing these subjects:

  • British History
  • European History


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Though from 1793 catholics could take degrees at Trinity College, Dublin, few did so, and in 1844 Peel proposed the establishment of undenominational colleges at Cork, Belfast, and Galway. The Irish catholic community split in response, the majority condemning them as godless, and the Synod of Thurles in 1850 warned catholics not to attend. Archbishop Cullen then presided over a committee to set up a catholic university. It opened in 1854 with 20 students but could make little progress without government assistance. Augustine Birrell, chief secretary in the Liberal administration of 1906, introduced the major reconstruction of 1908, which established the National University, with component colleges at Dublin, Cork, and Galway. Though formally undenominational, it was under catholic control.

Subjects: British History — European History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.