catur yoni

Related Overviews


'catur yoni' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Buddhism


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Skt.). The four ‘wombs’ or modes of birth. According to traditional Buddhist teachings, life arises in one of these four ways: from an egg, from a womb, from heat or exudation (thought to be the case for insects), and ‘spontaneous generation’ (as in the case of devas who generate a body through magical power).

Subjects: Buddhism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.