Cayman Islands

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A Caribbean island group south of Cuba, which came under British sovereignty in 1670. Administered from Jamaica, it joined the Federation of the West Indies in 1959, and upon its breakup became a separate colony in 1962, receiving the status of a United Kingdom Dependent Territory. Under this arrangement, the inhabitants became relatively prosperous, as it attracted the registration of around 20,000 banks, insurance companies, and other businesses. Despite autonomy, the islands were exposed to substantial pressure from the British government to tighten their control over the services sector. This intensified after September 11, amidst concerns that money‐laundering through the Cayman Islands encouraged global terrorism. From 2002, political representatives were unable to agree with the British government on a new constitution that would have granted a Bill of Rights. In 2004, the legislative assembly passed a controversial citizenship law which compelled most foreign workers to leave the island after seven years, before becoming eligible for citizenship,

Subjects: Contemporary History (Post 1945).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.