David Caute

(b. 1936)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1936– ),

novelist and historian, born in Alexandria, educated at Wellington and Oxford. His first novel, At Fever Pitch (1959), was followed by many more, which range in theme from The Decline of the West (1966), an epic of post‐colonial power struggle, set in French West Africa, to Veronica or the Two Nations (1989), a story spanning the post‐war period of a boy's incestuous passion for his half‐sister. Fatima's Scarf (1998) is a novel set in the Yorkshire town of ‘Bruddersfield’ (coined from J. B. Priestley) which explores the complex responses of the Muslim community in Britain and beyond to the publication of Rushdie's Satanic Verses. Caute's political studies include The Fellow‐Travellers: Intellectual Friends of Communism (1973, rev. 1988) and Under the Skin (1983), an account of the collapse of white Rhodesia. The Dancer Defects: The Struggle for Cultural Supremacy during the Cold War (2003) is a major study of cultural diplomacy and the arts.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.