Center for Editions of American Authors

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Organized by the Modern Language Association (1963) to promote textual and bibliographical study and to oversee the creation of approved texts for definitive editions of classic American authors, including Cooper, Stephen Crane, John Dewey, Emerson, Hawthorne, Howells, Irving, Melville, Simms, Thoreau, Mark Twain, and Whitman. Its publication program was later directly overseen by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Subjects: Bibliography.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.